U.N. Security Council Elects Five Members For 2-year Term

U.N. Security Council Elects Five Members For 2-year Term:- The United Nations General Assembly voted on Friday to elect Germany, Belgium, South Africa, the Dominican Republic and Indonesia for a two-year term in the Security Council starting on Jan. 1, 2019.

U.N. Security Council Elects Five Members For 2-year Term

About UN :– The United Nations Security Council (UNSC) is one of the six principal organs of the United Nations, charged with the maintenance of international peace and security as well as accepting new members to the United Nations and approving any changes to its United Nations Charter. 

Its powers include the establishment of peacekeeping operations, the establishment of international sanctions, and the authorization of military action through Security Council resolutions; it is the only UN body with the authority to issue binding resolutions to member states. The Security Council held its first session on 17 January 1946.

The council is the only U.N. body that can make legally binding decisions and has the power to impose the sanctions and authorize the use of a force. Indonesia draws more votes than the Maldives in the contested election for one Asia-Pacific seat by the 144 to 46. 

Other four candidates are runs unopposed. Uncontested candidates still need to wins more than the two-thirds of the overall General Assembly vote to be elected. There were 190 ballots in the Friday’s election.

Germany received 184 votes, Belgium had 181, South Africa got 183, and the Dominican Republic had 184 after one round of voting. Regional groups generally agree upon the candidates to put forward and competitive races are increasingly rare. 

In a typical year, the General Assembly elects five new members, which join the five elected the previous year and the five permanent, veto-power seats: the United States, Britain, France, China, and Russia. 

The five members giving up their seat at the end of this year are the Netherlands, Sweden, Ethiopia, Bolivia, and Kazakhstan.

 The five seats not up for election this year are currently held by Ivory Coast, Equatorial Guinea, Kuwait, Peru, and Poland.

So, these are the points to describes on U.N. Security Council Elects Five Members For 2-year Term by http://raithal.com/

If you like this blog please share it to your friends and don't forget to comment below.

7 thoughts on “U.N. Security Council Elects Five Members For 2-year Term

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons